STABLE TALK News from the campus of Barnwell High School

On Sunday, Nov. 4, the Warhorse Chapter of the National Honor Society held its annual induction ceremony in the BHS Media Center. The senior officers explained the four key components required for membership: President Corey Riley spoke on service, Vice-President Brantley Dickinson spoke on character, Secretary Leigh Anne Davis spoke on leadership and Treasurer Shelby Peay spoke on scholarship.
Then, NHS President Corey Riley recognized the newest members of the organization. The new inductees include three seniors: Ciera Bell, Mattie Brantley, and Lauren Perry; and eighteen juniors: Nicholas Aguilar, Chris Bozard, Anna Carroll, Brittany Collins, Johnny Mac Dodge, Laryn Harley, Ricky Hartzog, Jhordan Jenkins, Bae McKinney, Ashley Miller, James Plexico, Ashley Reynolds, Victoria Schatzer, Clay Tucker, Tehaam Waraich, Makayla Watkins, Carley Williams and Jeneka Williams. Parents presented their children with the symbolic NHS key as well as offered personal congratulations. A sincere thank you is extended to BHS Industrial Technology Teacher Steve Andrews for making the wooden keys for this year's ceremony. The advisors for the Warhorse Chapter of the NHS are Brenda Scruggs and Kelly Shealy.
Congratulations to Seniors Nicole Sanders and Corey Smith for being named Barnwell High's female and male school winners in the Wendy's Heisman Award Program. In 1994, the Wendy's High School Heisman was created to honor high school student athletes, and each fall the program recognizes the nation's most esteemed seniors for excellence in academics, athletics and community service.
Congratulations are also extended to Robert Germaux for being accepted to join the People to People Student Ambassador Delegation. As a member of this delegation, Robert will have the opportunity to travel to Europe during the upcoming summer.
The varsity volleyball team finished their season with a 12-5 record after a playoff loss to Bishop England. Congratulations to Junior Victoria Schatzer for being named to the all-state team.
The girls' tennis team finished second in the region and qualified for the playoffs for the first time in six years.
Please contact the high school at 541-1390 if you have any questions. Also, visit us on the web at to stay up-to-date on all school happenings.

*Pictured: Newly-inducted members of the National Honor Society at BHS: (front row) Ashley Miller, Makayla Watkins, Bae McKinney, Carley Williams and Ashley Reynolds; (middle row) Anna Carroll, Ciera Bell, Mattie Brantley, Nicholas Aguilar, Lauren Perry, Brittany Collins, Jeneka Williams and Jhordan Jenkins; (back row) Laryn Harley, James Plexico, Chris Bozard, Ricky Hartzog, Johnny Mac Dodge, Clay Tucker and Tehaam Waraich