STABLE TALK: News from the campus of Barnwell High

A huge Warhorse thank-you is extended to each of the following for making Homecoming 2016 a success: Mrs. Lisa Wyndham and the Student Council for planning the week’s activities; students, faculty, and staff for participating in spirit days; downtown merchants and law enforcement officials for assisting with the Homecoming parade; Mr. Lee Richardson, long-time athletic supporter, for serving as the Homecoming parade’s Grand Marshal; the Warhorse football team and coaching staff for providing excitement on the playing field; and cheerleaders, band members, band booster club, pep squad, and football fans for their loyal support.

Congratulations to the three senior girls who were elected by the student body to comprise the 2016 Homecoming Court: Second Runner-Up Lorie Breland, First Runner-Up Nikera Walker, and Homecoming Queen Dorion Carter.

The following students were selected by their respective classes to participate in this year’s Homecoming festivities:


Queen: Julia Richardson

First Runners-Up: Bailey Walker and Dayla Williams

Second Runner-Up: Mikayliah Bowman

Kings: Earl Bostick and BJ Patterson

First Runner-Up: Trevor Steadman

Second Runners-Up: Kolby Bridgmon, Marcus McKethan, and Douglas Scruggs


Queen: Kyra Shuler

First Runners-Up: Julie Davis

Second Runner-Up: Kennedy Cave

King: Pete Elmore

First Runner-Up: Jackson Carter

Second Runner-Up: Seth Pritchard


Queen: Shaveria White

First Runner-Up: Kinsley Breland

Second Runners-Up: Lauren Aguilar and Nyasia Tyler

King: Reggie Roberts

First Runner-Up: Lionel Mason

Second Runner-Up: Haakim Waraich


Queen: Gracie Mock

First Runners-Up: Aubretta Dunbar and Eriana Greene

Second Runner-Up: Alexandria Newberry

King: Craig Pender

First Runner-Up: Khaleef Brown

Second Runner-Up: Isaiah Williams

Approximately twenty-five BHS students attended CSRA College Night on September 15 at the James Brown Arena in Augusta, Ga. We are excited to announce that two of our seniors, Ma’Kayla Creech and Derin Hammon, were winners in the scholarship drawing!

Congratulations are extended to Senior football player Marcus McKethan on being selected to play in the 80th annual Shrine Bowl game. This year’s game will be played on the campus of Wofford College in Spartanburg on Saturday, December 17.

If you do not have your Parent Portal access information in order to view your child’s grades and attendance, please contact the high school at 541-1390 for more information. You can also visit us on the web at to stay upto- date on all school happenings.