GBMS spelling bee winners proceed to regional match

Guinyard-Butler Middle School held its school wide spelling bee on Friday, Jan. 11, in conjunction with the Scripps National Spelling Bee program.
All students participated in class spelling bees and the class winners moved on to the school wide contest. The school wide spelling bee began with the above students.
After five rounds Jenasia Robinson, a 7th grade student, beat out all the other students to be named GBMS Spelling Champion.
GBMS is able to send five students to the regional bee that will be held in Allendale in March.

BES students learn ropes of journalism

Some Barnwell Elementary School students got a glimpse into the life of a newspaper reporter as part of their career day Feb. 25. Barnwell native Jonathan Vickery, who is a staff writer at The People-Sentinel, came and taught the students the ropes of newspaper journalism. The students are taught by Mr. Chris Delk, Ms. Donna Dodge and Ms. Jacqueline Williams.

Students learn through giving...a cow

During the month of January, the fourth grade students at Kelly Edwards Elementary School (KEES) in Williston raised money to buy a cow for a family halfway around the world.
Three years ago, the school started an initiative requiring each grade to plan and perform a community service project. "It's something our school commits to," said Nancy Wood, a fourth grade teacher at KEES.
This year the fourth graders partnered with Heifer International to raise money to help a family they don't know somewhere else in the world, she said.

BHHS recognizes outstanding students

The Blackville-Hilda High School Awards Program was held Jan. 21.
The following students were recognized:
Principal's List: Raven Wood, Ansley Pope, Allante Harrison, Rashodd Howze, Kelcee Shore, Kenneth Utz and Kaylla Williams.
A/B Honor Roll: Logan Beasley, Jevonn Dukes, Brandon Felder, Jacoby Hammond, Dillon Isaac, Tyesha James, Davnuis Johnson, Delvin Johnson, Renee Polite, Amanda Prater, Tyler Sanderlin, Erika Childs, Whitney Gerrick, Raven Hampton, Rachel Still, Frantzline Toussaint, Amber

Stable Talk

Student registration is underway for 2011-12. On Feb. 23, 24 and 25 the rising seniors, along with their parents, selected courses for the next school year and updated individual graduation plans (IGPs). On March 2, 3 and 4 rising juniors will be doing the same, and on March 8, 9 and 10 the rising sophomores will be choosing their courses for the new school year and updating IGPs. Guinyard-Butler 8th graders will be signing up for their first year of high school courses at the end of March.

USC-Salk Fall 2010 honors

President's Honor Roll:
Jessica Hallman, Barnwell; Megan McFadden, Blackville; James Paisley, Barnwell; and Tracy Strickland, Barnwell.
Dean's List:
Dustin Beasley, Blackville; Ralph Bodiford, Williston; Stacey Childress, Barnwell; Charlene Grant, Barnwell; Bethany Jarrett, Williston; Evelyn Johnson, Barnwell; Laura Maule, Blackville; Lauren Ray, Barnwell; Alicia Strock, Barnwell; Jordan Toole, Barnwell; and Courtney Williams, Barnwell.

'Save the Children' receives awards

On Jan. 21, the Save the Children headquarters recognized Macedonia Elementary School's Save the Children Program. There were 10 categories of awards and Macedonia received recognition for every category. Macedonia was the only site of 17 sites in S.C. to receive Platinum Awards for both the in-school and after-school programs.
In order for a site to receive the award you must first receive the Gold Star award for three consecutive months.
In order to receive a Gold Star award a site must meet and maintain the following goals:

Barfield cast in 'Hairspray'

Williston-Elko Superintendent Alexia Clamp recognized Justin Barfield, a senior at Williston-Elko High School, at the regular Feb. 15 school board meeting for District 29.
Barfield has been cast in "Hairspray" by the Augusta Players.
"I'm not lucky. I'm blessed," Barfield said.
Barfield said he has dreamed of being famous ever since he was a little boy.
"I want to take time to say thank you," he said.
For more information, visit

DTC teaches nonviolence

The lessons of non-violence that formed the beliefs of Dr. Martin Luther King, Mahatma Gandhi and Daisaku Ikeda visited the Denmark Technical College campus in a physical form Feb. 2.
The display is known as the SGI-USA National Victory Over Violence (VOV) exhibit. SGI-USA is Soka Gakkai International-USA, a culturally diverse Buddhist association with over 12 million members in 185 countries. SGI-USA runs the VOV initiative.

Barnwell Elementary School - Second Nine Weeks Honor Roll

The following BES students were named to the school’s respective academic honor rolls for the second nine weeks.
4th grade: ‘A’ Honor Roll
Ms. Phyllis Bryan: Haley Bodiford.
Mrs. Julia Ferguson: Austin Jackson, Harrison Miller, Rachel Perez, Makenzie Renew, Collins Smith, Alyssa Still, Casey Terry, Lexi Thomason, Kierra Walker, Haakim Wariach.
Ms. Anita Wiggins: Walker Burt, Lauren Lott, Trey Sanders, Chloe Towne, Harrison Walsh.
‘A/B’ Honor Roll

SRNS donates $110,000 to DTC

The theme for Denmark Technical College’s third annual Presidential Scholarship gala Feb. 3 was “Celebrating Our New Beginning…Exceeding Expectations.”
Those expectations were exceeded as DTC surpassed its goal of $25,000 for the scholarship fund. Over $30,000 was raised in contributions during the fund-raising campaign. The fund is used to give DTC students who might otherwise not be eligible academic assistance with books and tuition.

Junior Scholars

Guinyard-Butler Middle School Junior Scholars:
Seated (L to R): Raven Zamora, Laura Burckhalter, Courtney Bennett, Riley Ridgeway and Dixie McCollum. Standing Front: Logan Hutto, McCrae Carroll, Dean Fleetwood, Daniel Sharpe and Nicholas Palm. Standing Back Row: Todd Teems, Malcolm Hammonds, Willie Farris, Russell Burckhalter, Jordan Mack and Johnathan Morris.

Two schools receive state Gold and Silver awards

Williston-Elko Middle School (WEMS) and Barnwell Primary School  (BPS)—were among more than 400 elementary, middle and special schools in the state that earned recognition for academic achievement in 2010.    
WEMS received a Silver award while BPS received a Gold award.
In its 10th year, the Palmetto Gold and Palmetto Silver awards program was created by the South Carolina General Assembly to recognize schools that attained high levels of absolute performance, high rates of growth and substantial progress in closing achievement gaps between groups of students.       

Hosey visits BHHS

On Jan. 28, Mrs. Annette Felder, Business Education Teacher, invited the Honorable Lonnie Hosey, House of Representative, District 91, to speak to the students of BHHS in her Entrepreneurship class along with some of the other classes.

Williams and Harbuck named to Dean’s List at Newberry College

NEWBERRY – William Harbuck, a senior from Barnwell, and Rachel Williams, a freshman from Barnwell, was named to the Dean’s List at Newberry College for the Fall 2010 semester.
Students receiving recognition on the Dean’s List at Newberry College had to achieve a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale during the semester.
Founded in 1856, Newberry College is affiliated with the S.C., Southeastern, Florida-Bahamas and Caribbean Synods of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.


Subscribe to RSS - Education