Few facing opposition in Nov. 7 election

Filing closed at noon Tuesday, Aug. 15 for candidates seeking election or re-election to seats on seven town councils in Barnwell County. Two mayors have also filed for re-election.

All the races are non-partisan which means there is no party affiliation.

Each of the races are for four-year terms. The elections will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 7.

Incumbent mayors seeking another term in office are Jason Stapleton in Williston and Paul Moore in Snelling. They are unopposed in their respective races.

For Barnwell’s City Council, four candidates are seeking election. Incumbents Billy Dozier (District 1) and Robert S. Pattillo Jr. (District 5) are unopposed in their districts. Incumbent Ben Duncan will run against Rev. Harris T. Barker for District 3.

Running unopposed for Blackville Town Council are incumbents Allen Harrison, Frederick Orr and Stephen Jowers.

In Elko the unopposed candidates are incumbents George Carrie and Jerry Greene for the two seats available.

The Town of Hilda has two seats available on council. Zack Fogle and incumbent Lula S. Fulmer have filed for those seats.

In the Town of Kline, incumbents Jesus Ortiz and Wayne Rodney Still are running for re-election for the two seats available.

Incumbents Carl S. Anderson Jr. and Annette G. Moore have filed to fill one of the two seats available on Snelling Town Council.

In Williston there are six candidates for three seats on council. Councilman Kevin Wall is not running for re-election. Incumbents Alan Dwayne Cagle and Shawn Eric Moody are running to retain their seats. Also on the ballot will be Nigel E. Abner, Kurt J. Odermatt, Tim Scott and Annie Smalls Tyler.