Two positions for Conservation commissioners to be on Nov. ballot

This year the Barnwell Conservation District will have two District Commissioner positions appearing on the November 4, 2014 General Election ballot.
The election of conservation district commissioners is through the petition process on a non-partisan basis. July 15 at noon is the deadline for submission of petitions to appropriate election official for a candidate's name to be placed on the November 4th General Election ballot.
Conservation district commissioners are non-salaried officials. Candidates must be registered voters in the county in which they are seeking office.
The conservation district is managed by a five-member board. These individuals serve as Conservation District Commissioners in each of the state's forty-six Soil and Water Conservation Districts. In South Carolina, conservation district boundaries are the same as county lines.
Conservation districts were created in 1937 by federal and state law for the purpose of managing natural resources. The idea is that local citizen's can best protect and conserve the natural resources in their communities.
Each year conservation district commissioners volunteer thousands of hours promoting soil and water conservation practices in urban and rural areas, and combating erosion and storm water problems.
Their tasks include planning and directing a conservation program, assigning priority to resource development and serving as a community clearinghouse for information and services on natural resource issues.
Regular board meetings are held, usually monthly, for setting priorities and planning with the cooperating agencies' staff.
For more information contact your local Soil and Water Conservation District office at 803-259-7143 (ext.101).