WEHS holds banquet

First Byline: 
Michael Young-Sports Editor

The Williston-Elko High Blue Devils held their annual Athletic Banquet Monday night, May 19 in the school auditorium.
During the ceremony, the Blue Devils paid tribute to the players, coaches, parents and members of the community who contributed time and support to their program.
Among the athletic accomplishments celebrated at he banquet were: the varsity football team winning its fifth straight region title. The golf team capturing its third straight region title and the boys and girls tennis region winning region crowns.
"This was another productive year for our athletic program," Athletic Director Dwayne Garrick said. "I like to thank the athletes for their particaption. I'd also like to thank the community of Williston, fans and parents for their great support."
In the awards presentations David Barnette and Hal Mundy recieved awards for the dedication and volunteer work for the school.
In cross country, John Jerkins was Most Valuable Male Runner and Flynn Valentine was Female Most Valuable Runner.
In varsity cheering, Most Spirted in football went to Jennifer Kanagy. Shi'Tavia Johnson received Most Spirited in baseball. Outstanding Leadership in cheering was awarded to Caroline Birt.
In Middle School cheering, Caity Toole was named Most Spirted. The Outstanding Leadership was awarded to Jasmine Brown.
For girls tennis, Co-Most Valuable Players were Myeshia Jeter and Sarah Gainey. Rookie of the Year honors went to Nikki Warner.
For boys tennis, Jacob Vargo was named Most Valuable Player. Rookie of the Year went to Darryl Ashley.
In varsity baseball, Caleb Everson received the Golden Arm Award. Offensive Most Valuable Player was Diamel Sanders and Dalton Mundy was tabbed Team's Most Valuable Player.
In junior varsity baseball, Case Wiles was named Defensive Most Valuable Player. Wyman Long was selected Offensive Most Valuable Player.
For varsity boys basketball, Antonio Coleman was recipient of the Coaches Award. The Most Outstanding Player went to Trimayne Whetstone.
For varsity girls basketball, Zori Green was selected Offensive Player of the Year. Ciera Smith was named Most Valuable Player.
In junior varsity girls basketball, Landrea Morris received Most Valuable Player honors. Mya Fagans was Best Defensive Player.
For junior varsity boys basketball, Teldric Toney was selected Most Valuable Player. Jaquez Myers was Best Defensive Player.
In Middle School boys basketball, Offensive Most Valuable Player went to Tyran Parker. Desmond Murray was named Most Valuable Defensive Player.
In Middle School football, Fabian Bing was named Offensive Most Valuable Player. Evander Tyler received Defensive Most Valuable Player.
In track and field, Darren Ferguson was Most Valuable Player for the boys. Rakaysia Branch was Most Valuable Player for the girls.
For golf, Tucker Neville was selected Most Valuable Player. Brooke Lindell received the Coaches Award.
In volleyball, Mya Fagans was named Offensive Most Valuable Player. The Team Most Valuable Players honors went to Brooke Weatherford.
Other award winners include Taylor Hearn, Jordan Nix, Jerome Evans, Octavia Mack and Antonio Coleman.