JDA inducts 17 into National Honor Society

In the fall of 2012, Jefferson Davis Academy applied for and was granted a National Honor Society charter.
The purpose of this organization is to create an enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote worthy leadership, and to encourage the development of character. Students admitted into NHS must meet the criteria of all four characteristics: Scholarship, Service, Leadership, and Character. A 4.00 cumulative GPA must be met and maintained.
JDA held their first induction on Feb. 19, 2013. Ms. Lynn Garrick, NHS Chapter Advisor at Orangeburg Prep, brought 17 seniors from Orangeburg Prep to assist in inducting JDA's very first group of NHS initiates.
Headmasters Eve Hogarth and Jane Hunter welcomed the entire school, family and friends to the special assembly. Orangeburg Prep Club president, Toni Salsgiver, presided over the induction service. Morris Mirmow reviewed the quality of Scholarship, Julia Bonnette spoke on Service, Austin Williams told about Leadership, and Virginia McCully reviewed Character.
Eight seniors, six juniors and three sophomores were selected by a faculty council to receive this high honor. They are as follows: Noah Bearden, Katelyn Bell, LeeAnn Berry, Justin Burt, Carlee Creech, Haley Eidson, Matthew Harsey, Presley Rutland, Madison Bates, Rachel Brown, Payton Cox, Anna Griffin, Caitlyn Still, Courtney Williams, Will Gee, Blakely Johnson, and Mackenzie Webster. Each signed the NHS register, lit a candle from the eternal light of truth and knowledge, pledged to uphold the high purposes of NHS, and received a pin and certificate.
JDA's Chapter Advisors are Vivian Holliday, Yvette Sanders and Joanne Walters.