Hawk athletes honored at banquet

  • From left, BHHS award winners are Kevin Faust, Dawon Joyner, coach Clint Keisler, Evan Staley, Davion Joyner, Hunter McClary and Derrick Faust.

Blackville-Hilda High recognized its student athletes last Tuesday evening, May 16, at its annual end of the year awards ceremony.

Students in grades 7 to 12 were recognized for their participation and achievements on the playing surface.

Blackville-Hilda High Athletic Director Michael Beasley hosted the event.

He commented on a year in sports and pointed out some highlights.

“This was another great year in athletics at Blackville-Hilda High School,” Beasley said. “I want to commend the athletes for doing another great job. I thought all of our teams were very competitive this school year, especially our softball, girls basketball and varsity football teams.”

In the awards presentations, Emily McClary was named to the Coaches Association of Women Sports (CAWS) All-State Team in softball. Other softball honors went to Melody Birt, Patricia Birt, Marlayna Singleton and Emily McClary for All-Region honors.

In boys varsity basketball, Evan Staley was selected All-Region. Staley averaged 12.2 points and 13 rebounds a game this season.

For girls varsity basketball, Marlayna Singleton, Jada Smalls and De’Siree James were named All-Region.

Tyreek Badger was an All-Region selection in varsity baseball and Melody Birt was named All-Region for volleyball.

The Three-Sports Letterman recipients included Rayala Edwards, Arianna Gibson, Marlayna Singleton, Alexis Isaac, Zaquashia Nix, Cam’ron Brown, Chris Williams, Ja’Quavian James and Tyreek Badger.

The Four-Sports Letterman recipients were Kailyn Richmond, Jada Smalls, Nyla Jenkins and Walter Nix.

The High School League Scholar Athletes were Breanna Blankenship, Evan Staley and Raykala Edwards.

The following were recipients of the Academic Excellence Award for students with a 3.5 grade point average. They include Amir Hay, Tyron Kinard, Breanna Blankenship, Evan Staley, Hunter McClary, Raykala Edwards, Marquis Walter, De’Siree James, Darius Washington, Theo Jamison, Jonathan Jackson, Tyreus Byas, Zaquaisah Nix and Marlayna Singleton.

Certificates were presented to the following individuals for their volunteer efforts, generous contributions and dedication to the program. They include Michala Davis, Martin Hughes, Coach Andrae Simmons, Frank Douglas, Joshua Saxton, Brandon Norman, Eran McClary and Darlene Birt.