Barnwell High School celebrates athletes

  • From left, BHS award winners are Delonta Wright, Chandler Smyly and Devin Creech.

Joined by players, coaches, parents and supporters, the Barnwell High School athletic department closed out another year of competition with its annual banquet Tuesday, May 23 in the elementary school auditorium.

Athletic Director David Anastasia took charge of the ceremony. Anastasia highlighted some of the individual and team accomplishments this school term.

“We are here to honor our athletes and coaches who have worked hard in their respective sports this school year,” Anastasia said. “I believe we have an outstanding program here with a great supporting cast of coaches working together. Barnwell High has just received the Award of Excellence for exemplary display of sportsmanship, ethics and integrity. I’m really proud of this award because it takes everyone in our athletic department including school administrators, coaches and players, parents, Warhorse Club Board and fans.”

Anastasia touched on some of the highlights of the season that included individual and team achievements. Some of the individual accomplishments include coach Carol Massengale winning her 400th game. Marcus McKethan (track) and Javonta Ross (wrestling) captured state titles. BHS had three region champions with boys cross country, softball and boys tennis. They also had several athletes who received Division I scholarships.

In the awards presentations, Jeff Miller - tennis, Luke Catoe - cross country and Carol Massengale softball were voted Region V Coaches of the Year.

The Senior Female Athlete with the Highest GPA was Sydney Scruggs. Douglas Scruggs was the Senior Male Athlete with the highest GPA. The Senior Cheerleader with the highest GPA was Julie Richardson.

For the District V softball champions, Kelci Brown earned the Offensive Player of the Year along with Region Player of the Year. The Coach’s Award went to Kyra Shuler. Anna Beth Grissom received the Tony DeCosta Award. The Defensive Players of the Year were Rachael Creech and Maleah Williams. The Coach’s Award in junior varsity softball went to Elizabeth Reid.

For varsity baseball, Kolby Bridgmon was honored with the John Hall Award. Nathaniel Toole was the recipient of the Silver Slugger award. The Golden Glove honor went to Jackson Ridgeway. Seth Chestnut received the Golden Spikes and Seth Pritchard was Golden Arm. Julius Arnold received the Coach’s Award for junior varsity baseball.

In girls tennis, Sydney Scruggs was named Most Valuable Player and Mariah Stone received the Coach’s Award.

For boys tennis, Sam Ben Solomons was voted Most Valuable Player and Chris Sullivan was the recipient of the Coach’s Award.

In girls varsity basketball, Defensive Player of the Year was Kyra Shuler. Rachael Creech tabbed Offensive Player of the Year. The Coach’s Award went to Dorion Carter and Anajae James was voted Most Valuable Player. Maleah Williams received the Coach’s Award in junior varsity girls basketball.

For varsity boys basketball, Randall Buxton, who came back from an off-season broken leg, was the recipient of the Coach’s Award. Defensive Player of The Year honors went to Jordan Jackson. The Co-Most Valuable Players were Devin Creech and Pete Elmore. Ziran Williams was the recipient of the Coach’s Award in junior varsity boys basketball.

The varsity cheerleading Coach’s Award winners include Madison Collins, Lorie Breland, Kennedy Cave and Loren Eubanks. Shaveria White was the junior varsity cheering award winner.

In girls’ cross country, Aniya Smith was the Top Runner and Most Improved Player went to Kinsley Kinard.

In boys’ cross country, Delonta Wright was Top Runner and Most Improved Runner went to Boldt Richardson.

For varsity football, Jackson Carter was the recipient of the Coach’s Award. Top Offensive Back was Mykal Lee. Derin Hammon was selected Best Defensive Back. Marcus McKethan was voted Top Offensive Lineman. Top Defensive Lineman honors went to Javonta Ross. The Offensive Most Valuable Player was Keyshawn Jenkins and Earl Bostic was chosen Defensive Most Valuable Player and Region Lineman of the Year. Craig Carter received the Coach’s Award.

In varsity volleyball, Kaylie Pridgen was named Top Server. Hannah Creech got the Coach’s Award and Jessica Kennedy was voted Top Hitter. Haley Bodiford received the Coach’s Award in junior varsity volleyball. Also in volleyball, Samantha Delgadillo was voted Top Official by the Volleyball Umpires Association.

The Wresting award winners included Javonta Ross, who was selected Most Valuable Player, and Kamron Myrick with the Warhorse Award.

In golf, Boldt Richardson was the recipient of the Medalist Award and Most Improved went to Kody Reynolds.

For girls’ track and field, Aniya Smith was named Top Runner and Top Event went to Anajae James.

In boys’ track and field, Marcus McKethan was Top Field Event and Ziran Williams was Top Runner.

For girls varsity soccer, Tiffany Black was Defensive Player of the Year. The Offensive Player of the Year honor went to Elli Porter and Kimberly Zorn and Lori Breland each received the Coach’s Award. Jordan Twitty got the Coach’s Award in junior varsity soccer.

In boys varsity soccer, Jordan Martin was voted Most Valuable Player. The Silver Ball went to Diamonte Reed. Dylan Walker tabbed the Warhorse Award and Devon Mack was the recipient of the Coach’s Award. Haakim Wairach received the Coach’s Award in junior varsity soccer.

The Three-Sport Letterman includes Kyra Shuler, Dorion Carter, Aniya Smith, Cole Kearse, Kamron Myrick, Pete Elmore, Javonta Ross, Earl Bostick, Delonte Wright, Reginald Roberts, Dante Rhodes and Sydney Burbage.

The BHS twirling team of Julie Davis, Caroline Greene, McKenzie Jackson, Tori Sanders and Lindley Still captured the State Championship for the third year in a row. Also, Lindley Still and Tori Sanders will compete in the AYOP Nationals in July at Notre Dame University.

The Region V All-Region players include (baseball) Nathaniel Toole, Seth Chestnut, Griffen Corely, Seth Pritchard; (girls basketball) Anajae James, Kyra Shuler; (boys basketball) Devin Creech; (girls cross country) Aniya Smith, Elli Porter, Kinsley Kinard; (boys cross country) Shane Poplin, Delonte Wright, Boldt Richardson, Austin Hutto, Chandler Smyly; (football) Keyshawn Jenkins, Marcus McKethan, Jackson Carter, Nathaniel Toole, MyKal Lee, Earl Bostic; (golf) Boldt Richardson, Kody Reynolds; (girls soccer) Elli Porter, Tiffany Black, Oliva Davis, Caroline Greene; (boys soccer) Jahir Hernandez, Trent Baxley, Connor Hess, Shane Poplin; (softball) Kyra Shuler, Rachael Creech, Anna Beth Grissom, Kaylie Pridgen, Kelci Brown; (girls tennis) Sydney Scruggs, Mariah Stone; (boys tennis) Sam Ben Solomons, Chris Sullivan, Collin Sitton; (track) Aniya Smith, Marcus McKethan; (volleyball) Jessica Kennedy, Kaylie Pridgen.

The following players received all-state honors: Jessica Kennedy, Sam Ben Solomons, Chris Sullivan, Mariah Stone, Sydney Scruggs, Seth Chestnut, Kelci Brown, Jahir Hernandez, Conner Hess, Trent Baxley.